aia tryptic.jpg

AIA Columbus received a record number of project entries at this year’s Design Awards. With 44 total built projects submitted, Brad and Jason’s work was featured in 26 different submissions. Six awards were given out this year with one Honor Award going to Schooley Caldwell Associates for their restoration of Old Montgomery County CourthouseAcock Associates Architects received two Merit Awards for EMH&T Corporate Engineering HQ and the Student Family Community Center at Buckeye Village. Jonathan Barnes Architecture and Design recieved the third Merit Award for 225 North Fourth Lofts. All three Merit Awards presented this year were shot by Feinknopf.
The newly introduced Un-Built Projects category recognized two projects this year. Cadwell Murphy Architecture recieved an Honor Award for Mimring Road Houses and WSA Studio recieved a Merit Award for SParks Medical Office Building.
Jurors for this years competition were from the Minneapolis area. They included head juror, Jennifer Yoos, principal, VJAA; Thomas Meyer, Meyer Scherer and Rockcastle; Renee Cheng, head of the shool of architecture at the University of Minnesota; and Ralph Nelson, partner at the design and fabrication firm LOOM (AIA Awards supplement to Business First).
For a complete listing of all the projects and more information, look for the AIA Awards supplement in Business First or contact AIA Columbus.